The bottom line is

disappointment

I recently read an article about Kwasi Enin, who was accepted into all 8 Ivy League Universities. Apparently such a feat is not only incredibly rare, but it never really happens- ever. When asked how he would determine which school he would attend, Enin said it would be the one he would receive the most financial aid in. That was something I really admired about him.

He didn’t say “which ever one has the best reputation” or “looks the most impressive.” Kwasi’s decision is logical and simply a smart move.

A lot of fellow students have been asking me which school I want to attend next year, and I tell them the 2 I am contemplating. I usually get the response, “Oh, go to the other school, its so much more impressive!” And for a long time I thought just like them.

But reality comes in and you realize that money doesn’t grow on trees. What’s the point of attending a school you cannot afford to get a good job, only to have to pay off loans later on?

Its rather simple to see that the most important thing about college isn’t where you choose to attend, but what you intend to do once you get there.

One of my friends said something that really stuck with me. She said, “I’d rather be a big fish in a small pond.” A lot of people have been getting said over college rejections. But they’re over, and frankly there isn’t anything one can do about it, except write an appeal.

But the bottom line is, its the work you do, not which college you attend, that really counts.

Stay happy! ^_^

Leave a Reply

